RBI Enforcement Tracker

RBI penal and enforcement actions against banks and NBFCs, filter by reason, entity type, theme, fiscal year, and how preventable each was with a policy-distribution layer. Each entry states only the reason cited in the RBI press release; where a penalty cites several reasons the amount shown is the total.

Showing 63 of 63 actions · ₹10.65 cr across 61 monetary penalties · FY25-26 to FY26-27
ARC
08 Sep 2026
Asset Care & Reconstruction Enterprise Limited
₹27.3 L penalty
Violated the regulatory requirement on the charging of management fees.
Prudential & Governance
NBFC-ICC
02 Sep 2026
Hinduja Leyland Finance Limited
₹6.2 L total penalty
Did not put in place a board-approved policy on the pricing of microfinance loans.
Undertook activities in the nature of synthetic securitisation, which the Securitisation of Standard Assets directions do not permit.
Multiple reasons
Fair Practices CodePrudential & Governance
CIC
31 Aug 2026
TransUnion CIBIL Limited
₹26.83 L penalty
Did not credit the compensation amount to the bank accounts of certain eligible complainants within the prescribed period.
Credit Reporting
CIC
31 Aug 2026
CRIF High Mark Credit Information Services Private Limited
₹6.9 L penalty
Did not credit the compensation amount to the bank accounts of certain eligible complainants within the prescribed period.
Credit Reporting
NBFC-HFC
31 Aug 2026
Sammaan Finserve Limited
₹4.2 L penalty
Did not report credit information of a borrower to the Central Repository of Information on Large Credits.
Credit Reporting
CIC
31 Aug 2026
Equifax Credit Information Services Private Limited
₹1.19 L penalty
Did not credit the compensation amount to the bank accounts of certain eligible complainants within the prescribed period.
Credit Reporting
NBFC-ICC
19 Aug 2026
Progfin Private Limited
₹2.7 L penalty
Did not have a system for periodic review of the risk categorisation of accounts, which must happen at least once in six months.
KYC & CKYCR
NBFC-ICC
19 Aug 2026
Shri Ram Finance Corporation Private Limited
₹8.1 L total penalty
Did not take prior written permission of RBI while appointing a director, which changed more than 30 per cent of its directors, excluding independent directors, and so amounted to a change in management.
Did not have a system to categorise its customers as low, medium or high risk.
Did not upload KYC records of certain customers onto the Central KYC Records Registry within the prescribed timeline.
Multiple reasons
Change of ControlKYC & CKYCR
NBFC-ICC
14 Aug 2026
Muthoot MCred Limited
₹3.1 L penalty
Upgraded certain non-performing loan accounts to standard without the entire arrears of interest and principal across all credit facilities being repaid.
Prudential & Governance
Bank-Private
14 Aug 2026
IndusInd Bank Limited
₹59.2 L total penalty
Paid interest on deposits held in certain current accounts.
Undertook activities in the nature of synthetic securitisation, which the Securitisation of Standard Assets directions do not permit.
Multiple reasons
Prudential & Governance
NBFC-ICC
14 Aug 2026
Northern Arc Capital Limited
₹6.2 L total penalty
Did not disclose correct and complete information about customer complaints in its annual financial statements for FY2024-25.
Did not ensure auto-escalation to its Internal Ombudsman of certain complaints that its internal grievance redress mechanism had partly or wholly rejected.
Multiple reasons
Prudential & GovernanceInternal Ombudsman
NBFC-MFI
14 Aug 2026
Fusion Finance Limited
₹2.7 L penalty
Did not have a system for periodic review of the risk categorisation of accounts, which must happen at least once in six months.
KYC & CKYCR
NBFC-ICC
11 Aug 2026
Valuefin India Credit Services Private Limited
₹1.8 L penalty
Did not obtain prior written permission of RBI for a change in shareholding exceeding 26 per cent of its paid-up equity capital.
Change of Control
NBFC-ICC
03 Aug 2026
Utsav Securities Limited
₹3.9 L total penalty
Its Key Management Personnel held office, including directorships, in other Middle Layer NBFCs.
Did not submit credit information of certain loan accounts to the Credit Information Companies.
Multiple reasons
Prudential & GovernanceCredit Reporting
NBFC-ICC
03 Aug 2026
Namdev Finvest Limited
₹2.7 L penalty
Did not put in place robust software for effective identification and reporting of suspicious transactions.
KYC & CKYCR
NBFC-ICC
03 Aug 2026
Infinity Fincorp Solutions Private Limited
₹5.4 L total penalty
Did not have a system for periodic review of the risk categorisation of accounts, which must happen at least once in six months.
Did not disclose in application forms and sanction letters the approach for gradation of risk and the rationale for charging different interest rates to different categories of borrowers.
Multiple reasons
KYC & CKYCRFair Practices Code
NBFC-ICC
15 Jul 2026
Dhani Loans and Services Limited
₹2.7 L penalty
Did not classify certain loan accounts as non-performing assets.
Prudential & Governance
NBFC-ICC
13 Jul 2026
Muthoot Vehicle and Asset Finance Limited
₹2.7 L penalty
Did not have a system for periodic review of the risk categorisation of accounts, which must happen at least once in six months.
KYC & CKYCR
NBFC-ICC
13 Jul 2026
PAN Emami Cosmed Limited
₹3.1 L penalty
Breached the prescribed regulatory limit for credit exposure to a single group of parties.
Prudential & Governance
NBFC-MFI
13 Jul 2026
Satya MicroCapital Limited
₹3.1 L penalty
Did not reclassify certain accounts as non-performing assets upon restructuring.
Prudential & Governance
NBFC-ICC
10 Jul 2026
Muthoot Finance Limited
₹5.8 L total penalty
Did not have a system for periodic review of the risk categorisation of accounts.
Did not have robust software that throws alerts when transactions are inconsistent with a customer's risk category and updated profile, as part of identifying and reporting suspicious transactions.
Multiple reasons
KYC & CKYCR
NBFC-ICC
10 Jul 2026
Avail Financial Services Limited
₹6.2 L total penalty
Its Managing Director held directorships in two other Middle Layer NBFCs.
Breached the regulatory single-party exposure limit.
Multiple reasons
Prudential & Governance
Bank-Public
30 Jun 2026
Bank of Baroda
₹63.6 L total penalty
Collected interest higher than the contracted rate in certain loan accounts.
Did not upload KYC records of certain customers onto the Central KYC Records Registry within the prescribed timeline.
Multiple reasons
Fair Practices CodeKYC & CKYCR
NBFC-HFC
24 Jun 2026
GIC Housing Finance Limited
₹3.1 L penalty
Did not have a system for periodic review of the risk categorisation of accounts, which must happen at least once in six months.
KYC & CKYCR
NBFC-MFI
18 Jun 2026
Pahal Financial Services Private Limited
₹3.1 L penalty
Did not put in place robust software for effective identification and reporting of suspicious transactions.
KYC & CKYCR
NBFC-HFC
18 Jun 2026
Can Fin Homes Limited
₹2.7 L penalty
Did not clearly indicate the split between interest and principal in the loan instalments collected from borrowers.
Fair Practices Code
NBFC-ICC
18 Jun 2026
Five Star Business Finance Limited
₹6.2 L total penalty
Did not put in place robust software for effective identification and reporting of suspicious transactions.
Did not disclose in application forms and sanction letters the approach for gradation of risk and the rationale for charging different interest rates to different categories of borrowers.
Multiple reasons
KYC & CKYCRFair Practices Code
Bank-Public
05 Jun 2026
Canara Bank
₹41.8 L total penalty
Did not upload KYC records of certain customers onto the Central KYC Records Registry within the prescribed timeline.
Classified certain accounts as inoperative even though the last customer-induced transaction in those accounts was less than one year old.
Multiple reasons
KYC & CKYCRCustomer Protection
NBFC-MFI
05 Jun 2026
IIFL Samasta Finance Limited
₹3.9 L total penalty
Did not put in place robust software for effective identification and reporting of suspicious transactions.
Did not disclose correct details of frauds reported for FY2024-25 in the notes to accounts of its financial statements.
Multiple reasons
KYC & CKYCRPrudential & Governance
NBFC-ICC
05 Jun 2026
True Credits Private Limited
₹3.1 L penalty
Did not undertake Enhanced Due Diligence for certain customers onboarded through non-face-to-face modes.
KYC & CKYCR
NBFC-HFC
05 Jun 2026
Repco Home Finance Limited
₹0.7 L penalty
Did not disclose in application forms and sanction letters the approach for gradation of risk and the rationale for charging different interest rates to different categories of borrowers.
Fair Practices Code
NBFC-ICC
27 May 2026
Puran Associates Private Limited
₹3.1 L penalty
Did not reclassify certain accounts as non-performing assets upon restructuring.
Prudential & Governance
NBFC-MFI
25 May 2026
CreditAccess Grameen Limited
₹3.1 L penalty
Did not have robust software that throws alerts when transactions are inconsistent with a customer's risk category and updated profile, as part of identifying and reporting suspicious transactions.
KYC & CKYCR
Bank-Private
20 May 2026
City Union Bank Limited
₹10.1 L total penalty
Levied loan-related charges on certain agriculture priority sector loans of up to ₹25,000.
Did not report Self Help Group member-level data to Credit Information Companies.
Multiple reasons
Customer ProtectionCredit Reporting
NBFC-ICC
18 May 2026
AKG Infin Private Limited
₹1.8 L penalty
Did not obtain prior written permission of RBI for a change in shareholding exceeding 26 per cent of its paid-up equity capital.
Change of Control
NBFC-ICC
15 May 2026
Mintifi Finserve Private Limited
₹3.1 L penalty
Did not upload KYC records of certain customers onto the Central KYC Records Registry within the prescribed timeline.
KYC & CKYCR
NBFC-ICC
15 May 2026
Newa Investments Private Limited
₹2.7 L penalty
Did not take prior written permission of RBI while appointing directors, which changed more than 30 per cent of its directors, excluding independent directors, and so amounted to a change in management.
Change of Control
NBFC-ICC
11 May 2026
IIFL Finance Limited
₹3.1 L penalty
Did not pay certain borrowers the surplus realised from auctioning pledged gold articles over and above the loan outstanding.
Customer Protection
PPI
11 May 2026
Appnit Technologies Private Limited
₹5.8 L total penalty
Allowed PPI accounts opened using Aadhaar OTP-based e-KYC to continue for more than one year without carrying out identification as required by the KYC Directions.
Did not have a system for periodic review of the risk categorisation of accounts, which must happen at least once in six months.
Multiple reasons
KYC & CKYCR
Bank-RRB
04 May 2026
Himachal Pradesh Gramin Bank
₹5 L total penalty
Did not transfer eligible unclaimed amounts to the Depositor Education and Awareness Fund within the prescribed time.
Did not pay interest on certain term deposits from the date of maturity until the date of repayment.
Multiple reasons
Customer Protection
Bank-Private
27 Apr 2026
Yes Bank Limited
₹31.8 L penalty
Did not put in place a system for using the KYC Identifier assigned by the Central KYC Records Registry when establishing account-based relationships with customers.
KYC & CKYCR
NBFC-HFC
27 Apr 2026
Hinduja Housing Finance Limited
₹1.8 L penalty
Did not take prior written permission of RBI before a change in management arising from a change of more than 30 per cent of its directors, excluding independent directors.
Change of Control
Bank-Payment
24 Apr 2026
Paytm Payments Bank Limited
Licence cancelled
RBI cancelled its banking licence under section 22(4) of the Banking Regulation Act, effective from close of business on 24 April 2026, finding that its affairs were conducted in a manner detrimental to the interest of the bank and its depositors, that the general character of its management was prejudicial to the interest of depositors and the public, that no useful purpose would be served by allowing it to continue, and that it had failed to comply with the conditions of its payments bank licence. RBI stated that the bank has enough liquidity to repay its entire deposit liability and that it will apply to the High Court for winding up.
Prudential & Governance
NBFC-HFC
21 Apr 2026
Muthoot Housing Finance Company Limited
₹0.8 L penalty
Did not disclose in application forms and sanction letters the approach for gradation of risk and the rationale for charging different interest rates to different categories of borrowers.
Fair Practices Code
Bank-Private
21 Apr 2026
Bandhan Bank Limited
₹41.8 L total penalty
Did not carry out periodic review of the risk categorisation of certain categories of accounts.
Sanctioned director-related loans, in contravention of section 20(1)(b)(iii) of the Banking Regulation Act.
Multiple reasons
KYC & CKYCRPrudential & Governance
PSO
17 Apr 2026
Ebix Payment Services Private Limited
₹0.8 L penalty
Did not carry out risk categorisation of its customers.
KYC & CKYCR
Bank-Payment
30 Mar 2026
Airtel Payments Bank Limited
₹31.8 L penalty
The charge of non-disclosure of certain complaints in its annual financial statements for FY 2024-25 was sustained.
Prudential & Governance
Bank-Public
27 Mar 2026
Central Bank of India
₹63.6 L total penalty
Did not upload the KYC records of certain customers onto the Central KYC Records Registry within the prescribed timeline.
Opened additional BSBD accounts for certain customers who already held BSBD accounts in the bank.
Multiple reasons
KYC & CKYCRCustomer Protection
NBFC-ICC
27 Mar 2026
Exclusive Capital Limited
₹10.3 L total penalty
Breached the permissible leverage ratio limit.
Did not submit certain supervisory returns to RBI at the prescribed frequency and within the stipulated timelines.
Did not furnish its balance sheet to RBI within the stipulated period.
Multiple reasons
Prudential & Governance
NBFC-ICC
27 Feb 2026
Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Ltd
₹11.5 L total penalty
Levied revised foreclosure charges on certain borrower accounts without incorporating a suitable condition in their loan agreements.
Did not ensure escalation of certain rejected complaints to the Internal Ombudsman within the prescribed time, and did not communicate the final decision to the complainant within the prescribed time in certain cases.
Multiple reasons
Fair Practices CodeInternal Ombudsman
Bank-Public
13 Feb 2026
Bank of Maharashtra
₹32.5 L total penalty
Did not report Self Help Group member-level data to Credit Information Companies.
Did not identify Beneficial Owners in certain accounts.
Multiple reasons
Credit ReportingKYC & CKYCR
NBFC-ICC
05 Jan 2026
Shaha Finlease Private Limited
₹0.1 L penalty
Failed to put in place a system of periodical review of compliance with the Fair Practices Code.
Fair Practices Code
Bank-Private
19 Dec 2025
Kotak Mahindra Bank
₹61.95 L total penalty
Opened another BSBD account for certain customers who already held a BSBD account in the bank.
Entered into an arrangement with Business Correspondents for activities outside the scope permitted for BCs.
Furnished inaccurate information for certain borrowers to Credit Information Companies.
Multiple reasons
Customer ProtectionCredit Reporting
Bank-Private
05 Dec 2025
Jammu & Kashmir Bank Ltd
₹99.3 L total penalty
Certain complaints partly/wholly rejected by the internal grievance mechanism were not escalated to the Internal Ombudsman for a final decision.
Did not send final letters to customers on complaint redressal, so customers were not made aware of their right to approach the Banking Ombudsman.
Did not transfer eligible amounts in certain accounts to the Depositor Education and Awareness Fund within the stipulated period.
Did not have face-matching technology in the Video-based Customer Identification Process and did not confirm the customer's economic/financial profile during V-CIP.
Multiple reasons
Internal OmbudsmanCustomer ProtectionKYC & CKYCR
NBFC-ICC
20 Nov 2025
Glowmore Finance Private Limited
₹4 L penalty
Failed to obtain prior written permission of RBI for a change in management resulting in change of more than 30 per cent of its directors, excluding independent directors.
Change of Control
NBFC-ICC
26 Sep 2025
Muthoot FinCorp Ltd
₹2.7 L penalty
Did not establish a system of auto-escalation of complaints partly or wholly rejected by the internal grievance redress mechanism to its Internal Ombudsman.
Internal Ombudsman
PPI
12 Sep 2025
PhonePe Limited
₹21 L penalty
End-of-day balance in the escrow account was less than the value of outstanding PPIs and payments due to merchants on certain days, and the shortfall was not reported to RBI immediately.
Prudential & Governance
NBFC-HFC
03 Jun 2025
India Home Loan Ltd
₹0.32 L total penalty
Failed to carry out periodic review of risk categorisation of accounts at least once every six months.
Failed to conduct periodic updation of KYC of its customers.
Multiple reasons
KYC & CKYCR
NBFC-ICC
29 May 2025
N.Y. Leasing Pvt Ltd
CoR cancelled
Violated RBI guidelines on outsourcing of financial services by outsourcing core decision-making functions, sourcing, due diligence, disbursement, collections, and KYC verification to a Service Provider in its digital lending operations.
Outsourcing
NBFC-P2P
23 May 2025
Transactree Technologies Pvt Ltd (Lendbox)
₹40 L total penalty
Routed amounts disbursed and collected in loan accounts through a co-lending escrow account, in violation of the laid-down Fund Transfer Mechanism.
Did not disclose the credit assessment and risk profile of borrowers to prospective lenders, and disbursed loans without the specific approval of individual lenders.
Multiple reasons
Fair Practices CodePrudential & Governance
Bank-Foreign
16 May 2025
Deutsche Bank AG
₹50 L penalty
Did not report credit information of certain borrowers to the Central Repository of Information on Large Credits (CRILC).
Credit Reporting
Bank-Public
09 May 2025
State Bank of India
₹100.72 L total penalty
Extended a bridge loan against amounts receivable from Central/State Government by way of subsidy or reimbursement.
Did not credit (shadow reversal) amounts in unauthorised electronic transactions within 10 working days, and did not compensate certain customers within 90 days of complaint.
Opened/maintained certain current accounts in contravention of regulatory requirements.
Multiple reasons
Customer ProtectionPrudential & Governance
Bank-SFB
09 May 2025
Jana Small Finance Bank
₹100 L penalty
Allotted CCPS to certain persons whose combined holding exceeded the permitted percentage of paid-up share capital, without ensuring prior RBI approval under Section 12B(1) of the BR Act.
Prudential & Governance
No actions match these filters. Clear them.
PolicyCentral.ai builds policy management software, not legal advice. These are plain-language summaries to help your teams understand what applies to them. Always verify against the original instrument on rbi.org.in and consult your compliance/legal team before acting.
PolicyGPT
AI-powered policy assistant

Hi! I'm PolicyGPT. Ask me anything about PolicyCentral.ai: features, security, compliance, pricing, or hosting.